Dallas County Government

Dallas County, organized 1841, was first called Niangua for the river flowing within its borders, but the name proved difficult and was changed to Dallas in 1844 for U. S. Vice Pres. George M. Dallas.  Settled in the early 1830’s by pioneers from Tenn., Ind., and Ohio, the county lies in territory ceded by the Osage Indians in 1808.     

Click Here to Print Page